IPTC Photo Metadata Conference 2020

Posted on 9/25/2020 by Jim Pickerell | Printable Version | Comments (0)

The IPTC, the global standards body of the news media will be conducting its 2020 IPTC Photo Metadata Conference online this year and it is entirely free for anyone to attend. The conference will take place on Tuesday 13 October 2020 from 15:00 to 18:00 UTC time. (That’s 11:00 to 14:00 EDT.) (See times for other timezones below.)
    Michael Steidl, Lead of the IPTC Photo Metadata Working Group, will introduce IPTC Photo Metadata, and discuss recent developments, and what we see in the future of photo metadata.

     Francois Spies, Product Manager, Google Images will present Google’s recent work on the “Licensable Images” project, which adds a “licensable” badge to images in Google search results, and links from the image preview panel in search results pages directly back to a place where users can obtain a licence to re-use the image.

    Andy Parsons, Director of Content Authenticity Initiative, Adobe will present the Content Authenticity Initiative, which is “designing components and drafting standards specifications for a simple, extensible and distributed media provenance solution.”

    He will explain how the Content Authenticity Initiative will work, what has been done so far, what still needs to be done and how can you help.</ul>
Please register here via Zoom – it’s free!

The IPTC Photo Metadata Conference has been held in conjunction with the CEPIC Congress for many years. The 2020 CEPIC Congress has been postponed to 19 to 21 May 2021, but with so much going on in the world of image metadata, we didn’t want to miss out on the opportunity, so we are holding a virtual event this year. We look forward to joining CEPIC again next year, hopefully in Mallorca in May 2021.

IPTC Photo Metadata Conference 2020: times around the world
    •    UTC / GMT: Weds 13 October, 1500 – 1800 UTC
    •    London: Weds 13 October, 1600 – 1900 BST
    •    Paris, Berlin, Amsterdam, Vienna: Weds 13 October, 1700 – 2000 CEST
    •    Helsinki, Dubai, Tallinn: Weds 13 October, 1800 – 2100 EEST
    •    New York, Toronto: Weds 13 October,  1100 – 1400 EDT
    •    Beijing, Shanghai: Weds 13 October, 2300 – Thurs 14 October, 0200</ul>
When you register for the webinar on Zoom you will be sent a calendar invitation so you can make sure you attend at the right time!


Copyright © 2020 Jim Pickerell. The above article may not be copied, reproduced, excerpted or distributed in any manner without written permission from the author. All requests should be submitted to Selling Stock at 10319 Westlake Drive, Suite 162, Bethesda, MD 20817, phone 301-461-7627, e-mail: wvz@fpcubgbf.pbz

Comments

Be the first to comment below.

Post Comment

You must log in to post comments.